The recently restored Camp Yeomalt Cabin was originally constructed as a Boy Scout camp in 1935 by unemployed island residents through Franklin D. Roosevelt’s Works Progress Administration. Built of mostly local materials, the cabin served as a scout camp for generations of Bainbridge Islanders. In 1942 the camp was used as the US Army 202nd Coast Artillery’s Bainbridge Island headquarters. At that time a bathhouse was constructed where the Camp Yeomalt Classroom stands today.
In 1987 ownership of the camp was transferred to the Bainbridge Island Park and Recreation District from the Camp Hopkins Youth Committee and the Boy Scouts. In 2000, the camp was renamed from Camp Major Hopkins to Camp Yeomalt Park. An anonymous donor provided funding to begin planning for the park’s future in 2003. Two years later Team Yeomalt, a group of volunteers with expertise in preservation, log construction, traditional building technology, and local history formed when the Park District sought preservation assistance for the deteriorated cabin. Due to Team Yeomalt’s efforts, the camp was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2005. Team Yeomalt then began a fundraising drive to rehabilitate and restore the cabin to its original condition.
The cabin was restored using authentic materials and methods, including hand-hewn Douglas Fir, selectively harvested and then removed from the forest with old-fashioned horse power. Master craftsmen used the opportunity to teach their skills in stonemasonry, log debarking, and cabin construction to volunteers who helped complete the difficult work.
Today this cabin stands as a testament to the hard work and dedication of Bainbridge Island volunteers and the Bainbridge Island Metro Park and Recreation District, who worked to preserve this historic structure. Because of their efforts, Camp Yeomalt cabin is again being used for youth camping and scouting activities, as well as community performances, classes, and educational heritage.
Funding for the restoration was provided by private donors, the Washington State Heritage Capital Projects Fund, the Bainbridge Island Metro Park & Recreation District, the Bainbridge Island Parks Foundation, the Hare Raisers etc 4H Club, the Bainbridge Island Rotary Club, the City of Bainbridge Island, the Bainbridge Island Community Endowment, the Bainbridge Island Arts & Humanities Council, the Suquamish Tribe Article X Community Grant, and the Washington Trust for Historic Preservation.
This article was adapted from the Bainbridge Island Metro Park & Rec District.
How to Get There:
900 Park Avenue NE
Bainbridge Island, WA 98110
Have a place or event you think we should feature on the Bainbridge Island Lodging Association‘s Blog? Send it to us at: email@example.com. Thank you!
The Bainbridge Island Lodging Association (BILA) is a nonprofit alliance of 25 Bainbridge Island vacation rentals, beach houses, cottages, inns, hotels and B&Bs on beautiful Bainbridge Island in Washington State. BILA is supported by member dues and a grant from the City of Bainbridge Island Civic Improvement Fund. Visit our website for Island events, attractions and vacation rentals.